Which Grains are Gluten-Free?

gluten-intolerant-friendly-grainsLearning that you are gluten intolerant is a bit of a shock. It takes some getting used to and you usually have tons of questions. Top of the list is which grains are gluten-free?

Whole grains that can be eaten by gluten intolerant people

Fortunately, the answer is that the vast majority of grains are gluten free. Therefore, gluten-intolerant people actually can eat whole grains and there are plenty to choose from.

The grains listed below are all gluten-free whole grains. Importantly, they can all be consumed in their entirity. That means you can safely eat the bran, germ, and endosperm.

Gluten FREE grains – Whole grains

Amaranth
Buckwheat
Corn
Job’s Tears (or Hato Mugi)
Millet
Montina (Indian rice grass)
Quinoa
Rice
Sorghum
Teff
Wild Rice

Oats!! – but only sometimes, see the note below **, it is very important that you read it

Grains that contain Gluten – avoid completely

Wheat – that is ALL wheat including varieties like spelt, kamut, farro and durum; and products like bulgur, semolina
Barley
Rye
Triticale

Oats – sometimes contain gluten, please see the note below **

Are oats gluten free?

**Oats are gluten-free. However, during growing or processing they are often contaminated with wheat.

Therefore, people with gluten sensitivity need to be very careful about which brand they eat. Fortunately, there are companies out there that grow, harvest and process their oats carefully to avoid any cross-contamination.

The vast majority of people with gluten intolerance, find that they can actually eat oats produced by the firms listed below:

Bob’s Red Mill
Cream Hill Estates
GF Harvest
Montana Gluten Free
Avena Foods

Given the fact that things change, before eating them we urge you to visit their websites and double-check what they say about the suitability of their products for those that suffer from gluten intolerance.

It is also wise to double check with your doctor before adding pure, uncontaminated oats to your diet.

These firms mostly sell their products in North America, so they may not be available in your area. If you live elsewhere in the world and know of other firms that produce genuinely gluten-free oats, please let us know about them. You can do so, by leaving a comment below. Once we have checked them out we will add their details to this page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *